Months ago, I downsized from a 3 bedroom house to 1 bedroom apartment.  Oh GOD.  Don’t let me use large boxes ever again!  I’m too old for this.  But even so, YES, I will be moving again next year…..to an even smaller apartment in a modest retirement community in Old East Dallas on the edge of Lakewood.  Love that.  Plus, it will be much cheaper, and that’s the whole point of all this Damn Downsizing.

I let go of almost half of what I owned before the move.  Painful at times, yet freeing.  Cousin Julie, who had also just downsized, sent me her copy of “The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up: the Japanese art of decluttering and organizing” by Marie Kondo.  A revelation.  If the item doesn’t “spark joy” when you touch it, let it go to a new owner who might love it. (or just throw it away).  Serious magic, indeed.  Important to follow the order she prescribes, as your confidence and clarity grows throughout the process.  The only thing I couldn’t do was fold all my blouses/tops for storage in drawers.  I prefer hangers and I’m NOT a young petite person like Ms. Kondo.  You get the idea.

New apartment, “Before”…..

IMG_0002IMG_0007IMG_0004

IMG_0005
Where the hell did all this stuff come from?  I am so overwhelmed, it takes me months to get unpacked and re-designed.

So now we come to the “After” pics:

33135535150_7f79944191_z
These books all pertain to art making.  LOVE my new vertical metal “spine” bookshelves.  Cloth dolls and paintings by me.
33135560870_6fab1a094f_z
Painting by Las Vegas artist Jenn Main circa 2000.  I made a “gallery wall” by the bed using mostly family photos.  I still don’t like the bedroom.  I miss the 2 windows with leafy green views that were in my bedroom in my house.   I also miss the pink bedroom walls my son had painted for me there.
IMG_0195
I used to have 3 tables.  This old beat up vintage one was a gift in the ’70’s from a beloved aunt.  I just can’t part with it.  See the metal cart on wheels?  A recent steal from Tuesday Morning.  It holds the supplies I use the most.  I rounded up all the old photos accumulated pre-smart phone days and stored them in the round turquoise boxes that had been languishing mostly unused, due to their inconvenient roundness.  They are happy now.  I repurposed a canvas art supply tote to hold household tools.
IMG_0185
I repurposed the linen cabinet for art supply storage.  The bottom drawer holds mostly muslin/calico.  It took me months to decide how I wanted to organize everything.  I am unable to just stash things away in order to hide them, which irritated a minimalist numbers-loving friend who tried to help me…in vain.  I had to undo everything she tried to do!  Who says artists aren’t organized?  It just takes me longer to get there.
32774409915_eb2bb6eb62_z
This $15 plastic shelf from Lowe’s is perfect for a tiny corner.   Oil painting by my late mom, D.J. Geer, circa 1965.  I covered the front of an old couch pillow with a leopard print remnant.  Origami cranes by grandson Castle Keathley.
IMG_0200
Castle Keathley (the greatest grandson of all time) comes over to hang out.  It feels like home now!
31931288644_fd90b742a1_z
Another new metal spine bookshelf for my Decor library.  Castle assembled them for me.  I found them via Amazon.  Design Within Reach carries them as well.  A must-have for small spaces.  Artwork and dolls by yours truly.

33519220945_897b1ce641_z

See the tall, narrow coffee cups?  With the Dutch canal houses on them?  A serendipitous gift from friends and newlyweds Jennifer and Marcel.  He’s Dutch, she’s a Dallas gal and now she lives in my favorite country, Holland, with Marcel and his two darling daughters.  The coffee cups are from Amsterdam.  They replace my favorite cup which somehow got left behind during my move and for which I grieved, silly as that sounds….my son Eric made the wood plaque for me when we lived in The Lehigh Valley for a few years.  I still miss the snow and the scenic views.

Reunions……

32621405362_f7eba9d082_z
Jennifer and Marcel with Elise and Melanie.  It was the girls’ first trip to the USA!
IMG_0134
Teenage friends Genie and Barbara reunite at her book launch…that’s Barbara Gold on the right.  She grew up to have a successful private practice as a family therapist and now author!  Loving Courageously:  First Me, Then You, Now Us is available on Amazon.  An easy, entertaining read full of pearls of wisdom and references to pop culture.  Have your highlighter ready.

And my 50th high school reunion was so cool, that none of us got as many photos of each other as we wanted.  I could only stop talking long enough to take a few.

32733897206_700e19c18a_z
Linda, Barbara, Ronnie, Anita, and Joel

This formatting is about to kill me.  I can’t figure it out.  Something changed.

31960251433_7b2c6b9a89_z
Is this me….or Hillary?  Just after the Election
31931709494_6288a2d32b_z
I was trying to depict my new Marie Antoinette couch pillow cover

During all this life readjustment, I had cataract surgeries on both eyes.  Long process.  These sketches were all done during that time, and around the presidential election, which was also a cause for my watery, blurry eyes.  And general depression.

32774409795_b895a48d66_z
Mom’s antique secretary.  Before she died, she spent many happy hours at it, painting little exquisite pastel landscapes.
31960251553_196d53b51f_z
I was playing around with a felt tip calligraphy pen.  These people, in this style, keep showing up.
32733544666_f62a08273b_z
Playing around with gouache.  Now I think he reminds me of Pres Obama. 
31931287454_73d8939458_z
“Pink” Decor
IMG_0191
Another stitch project .  Free form cloth hand sewn figure
32736979384_be61e180d6_z
Pastel and Micron pen in AquaBee sketchbook
IMG_0154
New Fav magazine

 

 

 

 

 

 

33198239640_3509bafe94_z
Fabric remnants gifted by designer Jennifer Mayer
33581303085_f267c0648f_z
Multitasking.  Reading Barbara Gold’s Loving Courageously and playing paper dolls.
33540760036_61febc8006_z
I survived downsizing!  With a LOT of help from my friends and family.  And am always happy on an art-day outing!

 

 

9 thoughts on “Downsizing, Change, Reunions, and new Sketches plus Fiber Art

  1. Hi Genie, Your downsizing/focusing is inspiring! I keep nibbling away at my edges, and have a group of local women (younger than I am, mostly) who will take my rejects…it’s tough to let go of Possibilities, but you seem to be doing a great job and making the most of what is.
    Panels

    Like

  2. Hi Genie! A very interesting post. I need to start downsizing and Marie Kondo´s book is an interesting source of inspiration. On the other hand, you are an ARTIST. I love your doll collection as well as the different paintings and drawings. You are really talented for art. I always wished I could draw but having for nickname Messy Maria you could imagine I cannot draw well. But sometimes I still enjoy doing awful butterflies and pop – art flowers. Thanks a lot for sharing your art and let us be part of your new life. Cheers and Blessings!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you, Sally! Clearing out or keeping is a pretty personal issue I think. I used to keep every fabric scrap ever given to me until I was drowning in them! In my junk drawers I found hardware bits that were complete mysteries to me. I took a deep breath and tossed it all. Haven’t missed any of it!

    Like

  4. I wish I had the courage to clear the clutter. I am still suffering from the ‘that’ll come in handy one day’ syndrome! Love your sketches and collection of dolls on the walls. I hope you re happy in your new place.

    Like

    1. Hello Sally! I thought I had thanked you for your comments, but perhaps I had not? It is extra hard for artists to clear what other people see as clutter but we see as inspiring objects, I think. Cheers!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment