Since retiring from office work I’ve made it my bizness to jump full into art making.  Who knew it was so much work?  Social media has certainly upped the ante in the game.  Not complaining; just sayin’.  I am grateful to have all these avenues.  So, I joined Dallas Area Fiber Artists (DAFA) organization as well as Texas Association of Visual Artists (TVAA), both here in Dallas.

At DAFA last month, I made a spirit doll in the workshop taught by Valery Guignon.  Check ’em out: http://www.dallasfiberartists.org

Fabric wrapped wire Spirit Doll
Doll made at DAFA workshop

Friend and fellow artist Linda Goodwin and I visited TVAA’s “Black & White” curated exhibit at the Plaza of the Americas in downtown Dallas’ Arts District.  Understand that Linda and I are both Dallas natives, have been downtown a gazillion times (albeit separately); both have smart phones, and Linda has a gps, but we still got lost, as per usual.  So as the Gallery was closing, we show up! frazzeled!  excited! and are dazzled by the talent displayed.  Check ’em out:  http://www.tvaa.org

In September, we went to the Lakewood Summer Arts Faire where I bought a bag of little hand dyed silk scraps from Val Guignon, Linda came away with a hand dyed silk top from her and amazingly dazzling pendant lights made from gourds by Le Gourd on Blue.  I had a heartwarming chat with Cynthia Brannum, Art Program Director at The Stewpot, a downtown Dallas ministry; I own a painting by one of her students there, Mr. Cornelius Brackens, Jr.  Check ’em out: http://www.thestewpot.org

Another exciting event was when I learned that artist Jane Cather, whom I so greatly admire, was blogging again after a four-year hiatus!  check her out here: http://janecather.wordpress.com/

My big guy, son Eric Keathley, built this computer for me, turned 41 years of age, and started up his Reverb Nation website.  He rocks! check him out here:  http://www.reverbnation.com/musician/erickeathley

His little guy, Castle turned 13!

Castle is 13!
Castle is 13!

I bought the cutest little embroidered pincushion from my Dutch friend; it’s the orange bicycle cross-stitch on natural linen; check her out here:  http://www.nellyslittlegifts.nl  or search Etsy for nellyslittlegifts

My friend Susan recently ordered an assemblage item for her granddaughter from me.  So I made this little character – no, it made itself! using a plastic bottle that contained an Ensure-like beverage, silk fabric strips, wire, wall anchors, cool paper clips, beads, muslin, embroidery thread, and price tags, which I labeled each with an aspect of personality or desire.  Head lifts out and Katie can write something she wants to change or happen on a note, and drop it inside the body.  I also fixed up a kit for her to make one for someone else.

a mixed media art doll
a mixed media art doll
Her first name was "Aspects"
Her first name was “Aspects”

And then, I opened my Etsy shop.  I have more items to add to the 13 currently listed, but am in the process of cutting, glueing, and photographing/staging them.  What a lot of work!  But so gratifying.  Here’s a peak at a couple things listed:

Ethnic girl
Ethnic girl
black and white stripe
Portrait of redhead + chandelier

find me here;  https://www.etsy.com/shop/ARTYOLOGYbyGenieGeer

Finally, here are images from the White Rock Lake 22nd Studio Tour:

pottery by Marty Ray
pottery by Marty Ray
more pieces by Marty Ray
more pieces by Marty Ray

wrl studio tour 14 006

wrl studio tour 14 008

Paintings by Richard Ray
Paintings by Richard Ray

wrl studio tour 14 012

wrl studio tour 14 013

Corner of Susan Giller studio
Corner of Susan Giller studio
Painting/collage by Susan Giller apprx 66" x 42"
Painting/collage by Susan Giller apprx 66″ x 42″
Pottery by Susan Giller
Pottery by Susan Giller
Encaustic paintings by Silvia S. Thornton
Encaustic paintings by Silvia S. Thornton

wrl studio tour 14 022

OMG  A Frida dishwasher!
OMG A Frida dishwasher!

wrl studio tour 14 028

American Contempory Artist, Silvia S. Thornton in her studio
American Contemporary Artist, Silvia S. Thornton
in her studio
Studio of Kathy Boortz
Studio of Kathy Boortz
A working studio
A working studio
What a cool workspace
What a cool workspace
Works by Kathy Boortz
Works by Kathy Boortz
Carved wood piece by Kathy Boortz
Carved wood piece by Kathy Boortz
There's a pond and fountain back there
There’s a pond and fountain back there
Fuchsia pink flamingos!
Fuchsia pink flamingos!
Mixed media art by Angie Bolling
Mixed media art by Angie Bolling
Angie Bolling in her studio
Angie Bolling in her studio
A delightful place!
A delightful place!
Susan Giller Orange Rabbit Woman print comes home to my studio
Susan Giller Orange Rabbit Woman print comes home to my studio
Bird by Marty Ray, wood block by Chris Lyons and pinch-pot by Nancy Cole
Bird by Marty Ray, wood block by Chris Lyons and pinch-pot by Nancy Cole
My artsy friends Julia, Linda, and Emily.  Kelly was probably still in somebody's studio!
My artsy friends Julia, Linda, and Emily. Kelly was probably still in somebody’s studio!
Isabelle naps as I work
Isabelle naps as I work

Leave a comment